[syndicated profile] universal_hub_feed

Posted by adamg

Bundled up Red Line car on a flatbed rolling down Tremont Street in the South End

Roving UHub photographer John Patrick Haley caught a gander of two new Red Line cars being delivered to the Cabot Yard on flatbeds rolling down Tremont Street at Rutland Street around 8:45 p.m. He reports State Police shut down both sides of the road for the wide loads.

Earlier:
Red Line service on Tremont in 2024.

Topics: 
Neighborhoods: 
Free tagging: 

Spring (and pet) pictures!

Mar. 26th, 2026 07:47 pm
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
[personal profile] mistressofmuses
What a lovely summer we're having this spring...


We set an all time record for a high temperature in March yesterday. The previous high temp record for the month was set... last Saturday. That broke the previous all-time record that was set... last Thursday. So yeah, we broke that all time high temp record three times in seven days! This is normal and fine!


Callery pears, my beloathed. But look how happy the bees are!


Seven pictures of mainly flowers and pets:

Went to Petco to get crickets, but they had their Halloween stuff on clearance. So Bella got a planchette costume, with "ouija board" blanket, haha. (The orange fish was also on clearance. It has proven to be quite a hit!)

A few pictures from last week:


A little bird nest, presumably from last year.


I was trying to get a picture of a bee here, too, but instead just caught it flying away, ha.

From last weekend, at my mom and Taylor's house:


Someone left a Thanksgiving turkey on the floor. (Poor Jaspurr, it's not his fault he looks like a turkey.)


Sometimes he doesn't look like a turkey! Look how comfy he is!


My mom's lemon tree is blooming. It smelled lovely!


Daffodils in my mom's front garden!


And then a couple pictures from today:


Redbud blooming!


The very sudden emergence of an early lilac flower!

(This makes me think of [personal profile] spikedluv. I miss you.)

Part 2, Week 6

Mar. 26th, 2026 08:52 pm
soc_puppet: A calendar page for January 2024 with emojis on various dates (Mood Theme in a Year)
[personal profile] soc_puppet posting in [community profile] moodthemeinayear
Aaaaaaahhh, we're in the last week of Part 2, aaaaaahhhh!

This week's Minimum moods are: Relaxed, Silly, Uncomfortable

This week's Medium and Maximum moods are: Tired, Aggravated, Annoyed

As a reminder, if you only want to do branching moods, the final higher-level mood here is Tired. After that, it's all bottom-level/leaf moods, so if you're aiming for a whole 36 moods to get some Dreamwidth points, you can go with Aggravated and Annoyed, as listed here, or you can pick any random two from the remaining moods in Parts 3 through 8! Next week will be a break week, and then Minimum and Medium moods will be synched up again for a while.

As far as this week's moods go, Tired is going to take care of most of the rest of the sleepy moods; but there's still one left to go if you find two images that would work perfectly and can't pick which one you'd rather use! Aggravated and Annoyed are bringing us solidly into the Angry derivatives with two we have to find subtle differences; I feel like Aggravated might be a bit more, hmm, active than Annoyed, myself? For me, Annoyed is something that can be passive, but Aggravated means that either something is being done on purpose, or something's about to be done on purpose. Does that make sense?

But maybe you feel otherwise! What are the differences between Aggravated and Annoyed to you? How do you plan to differentiate between them in your mood theme? Or are you fine on those two moods, and Tired is the one that's kicking your butt? Let's talk about it!

Thursday Recs

Mar. 26th, 2026 08:44 pm
soc_puppet: Dreamsheep, its wool patterned after the Queer Pride flag: An off-white background, with two downward-pointing chevrons in lilac and violet; the Dreamwidth logo echoes these colors. (Queer Pride)
[personal profile] soc_puppet posting in [community profile] queerly_beloved
Feeling a bit sleepy on this Thursday Recs post...


Do you have a rec for this week? Just reply to this post with something queer or queer-adjacent (such as, soap made by a queer person that isn't necessarily queer themed) that you'd, well, recommend. Self-recs are welcome, as are recs for fandom-related content!

Or have you tried something that's been recced here? Do you have your own report to share about it? I'd love to hear about it!
foxinthestars: Rozemyne looks back from writing at a slanted table. (honzuki writing)
[personal profile] foxinthestars posting in [community profile] betaplease
Seeking beta for Ascendance of a Bookworm novel canon gen fics. Up-to-date canon knowledge strongly preferred.

I'm pretty confident (plus this is a sprawling canon that shows no signs of fully closing, to the point that perfectionist canon-compliance seems like a fool's errand), so I'm really just looking for "due diligence" -- another pair of eyes to make sure no major problems slipped past me.

Google Docs with comments enabled are the easiest way for me to share.
but_can_i_be_trusted: (Default)
[personal profile] but_can_i_be_trusted posting in [community profile] vocab_drabbles
Title: 'Unbelievable Weirdo'
Fandom: Friends
Author: [personal profile] but_can_i_be_trusted
Rating: G
Word Count: 100
Characters/Pairings: Phoebe Buffay, Rachel Greene
Warnings: None
Notes: Crossposted to [community profile] anythingdrabble
Summary: Perplexed, Rachel looked up from the fashion magazine that she’d been thumbing through.

Unbelievable Weirdo )
[syndicated profile] universal_hub_feed

Posted by adamg

Stanley Staco reports the teen was shot at the intersection of Brighton Avenue and Allston Street around 6:45 p.m. Three suspects were last seen running up Allston towards Commonwealth Avenue.

NBC Boston reports the victim's injuries were not considered life threatening.

Neighborhoods: 
Topics: 

🔊 Daily music

Mar. 26th, 2026 07:38 pm
bluapapilio: coffee cup with a smilie on it and coffee written in Japanese under it (coffee love)
[personal profile] bluapapilio
@ Spotify

I'll jump, I'll jump, if you ask,
I'll say, "How high?"
I'll run like a shiver down your spine
For you, I would give you my own life
 🎵
Faouzia - Fur Elise
lucymonster: (horror)
[personal profile] lucymonster
Help, I started watching these notorious, near universally panned exploitation films because I was in a bad mood and wanted something to be angry about, except I accidentally ended up thinking they were KIND OF FUCKING GREAT, ACTUALLY, and now I am forced to declare myself a card-carrying member of the Dead Rapists Cinematic Universe fanclub. I swear with hand on heart that I'm not trying to be iconoclastic here. I just. I thought these were good films. I enjoyed them. I can see where the critical consensus is coming from and I don't think it's Wrong, per se, but I also really just completely disagree, which I guess means that I am either a bad feminist or (I'd prefer to think) just vibrating on a different frequency than the mainstream in this case.

Anyway, backing up a bit: I Spit On Your Grave is an extremely controversial rape-revenge horror movie franchise. It's about...well, I guess the genre label is pretty self-explanatory. A rape survivor exacts murderous revenge on her rapists. The original film was released in 1978, and widely banned or censored around the world for its graphic depictions of sexual violence. (A brutal gang rape scene takes up 30 full minutes of runtime.) A remake came out in 2010, followed by a couple of sequels; in 2019, the original director and lead actress returned with a sequel to the 1978 version. So far I have only watched the 2010 remake and its 2015 direct sequel. I plan to watch the 1978 as well but will probably skip the 2019 sequel (which apparently kills my first movie Final Girl blorbo) and am undecided on the 2013 middle movie of the remake trilogy (unrelated plot with all-new characters).

I'm going to put the entire rest of this post under a cut for obvious reasons. But tl;dr, if you can stomach the sexual violence, these movies absolutely have a place in the feminist conversation imo and are very impactful, successful horror in their own right.

Potentially triggering discussion of potentially triggering films under the cut )

Has anyone else here watched any of these movies? Or want to use my "objectively" bad taste new obsession as a jumping-off point to gush about your own favourite exploitation media? Just tell me I'm not alone here in actually really, really liking something I'm by all accounts supposed to hate.

I Wish They Wouldn’t Do That

Mar. 26th, 2026 04:47 pm
lovelyangel: (Haruhi NotImpressed)
[personal profile] lovelyangel
Old vs New Tillamook Cheese Slices
Old vs New Tillamook Cheese Slices

Last time I went to WinCo to get more Tillamook Cheese Slices, I couldn’t find them – until I realized that the packaging had changed. I was looking for a compact brick of slices, but the new packaging is big and flat, with the slices staggered like bacon slices. This is going to be harder for me to store in the refrigerator.

But I really wish they wouldn’t have done the shrinkflation thing. The old pack is 12 1-oz slices, totaling 12 ounces. The new pack is 9 slices, totaling 8 ounces. So now each slice is 8/9 of an ounce – not a full ounce. Why do this? It’s not fooling anyone. I’m OK with getting fewer slices – but why shrink the slices themselves? Just so you can say NINE slices eight ounces? I’m not a moron, Tillamook. I had more faith in you.
chazzbanner: (wisdom sign)
[personal profile] chazzbanner
I remembered something else from lunch with catsman: I told him about the YT shorts asking young people on the street 'what's the hardest word for hou to pronounce in English?'

'Squirrel' and 'literally' are mentioned several times. Others include 'choir', 'jewelry', 'scissors.' Even, once, 'brownies'!

In my case - and in my own language - here's something I find difficult. It's from a poem by Edward Thomas, Sedge-Warblers.

This was the best of May - the small brown birds
Wisely reiterating endlessly
What no man learnt yet, in or out of school.

'Wisely reiterating endlessly' Wuff! I have to concentrate.:-). I don't think the word reiterating itself is a problem, it's the transition from 'wisely.'

btw I've started again to review the poetry that I memorized eight or ten years ago. They include nine by Edward Thomas, five children's poems by Robert Louis Stevenson, and others by Donne, Clare, Keats, and so on.

I find the tricks I use to be interesting. For instance, in Sedge-Warblers in one section I remind myself that it's 'and - and' as well as 'the - the - the - the - the.'

I've also added two to the poetry memorization list, inspired by 'Landscape with the Fall of Icarus' , which I saw in Brussels. One poem is by William Carlos Williams, the other by W. H. Auden.

Apparently they now think the painting is an early copy of Brueghel's original. I must say I like the little legs of Icarus being barely visible splashing into the water.

ETA: to add link. Also, click on the painting to get make it much larger. Find the legs.

-

Fills 16-20

Mar. 27th, 2026 12:13 am
shuufleur93: (Default)
[personal profile] shuufleur93 posting in [community profile] 100fandoms
Fandoms are: Fire Country, 9-1-1, Mission: Impossible (Movies), Doctor Odyssey, Younger

006. home. Équilibre (3414 words), Doctor Odyssey, Max Bankman/Avery Morgan/Tristan Silva. Written in French. Summary: Max and Tristan were eager to see Avery again after she left for medical school, but a few setbacks will delay their reunion.

018. fix. Lifesaver (622 words), Younger, Kelsey Peters & Diana Trout. Summary: Kelsey has a surprising new partner-in-crime for a gala.

019. crack. L'annonce (596 words), Fire Country, Luke Leone & Manny Perez. Written in French. Summary: Luke tells Manny he's leaving.

027. fear. Dernier souffle (601 words), Mission: Impossible, Ilsa Faust/Ethan Hunt. Written in French. Summary: Ethan is running. After criminals, terrorists, his friends, his enemies. And now, after Ilsa. Hoping he’ll make it in time.

034. fall. Face contre terre (1117 words), 9-1-1, Evan "Buck" Buckely & Tommy Kinnard. Written in French. Summary: Tommy was no stranger to death, but seeing Buck collapse was perhaps more than he could bear.

Link to my card (20/100).

Old Dog, New Tricks

Mar. 26th, 2026 04:11 pm
lovelyangel: (Amy Camera)
[personal profile] lovelyangel
Consolidated Lightroom Folders • March 26, 2026
Consolidated Lightroom Folders • March 26, 2026

After nearly two months of turmoil, I can finally say that my Adobe Lightroom photos and catalog (metadata & edits) are consolidated into one master dataset.

To do this, I first studied Lightroom catalog documentation – first at Adobe – then at The Lightroom Queen. Mainly, I relied on Victoria’s 700-page Adobe Lightroom Classic – The Missing FAQ, of which I own a copy.

I learned how to export a catalog subset – and then how to import that subset into my main catalog. This was something I had been planning to learn in retirement as I will be building a special, operational Portfolio subset of my 200k photos as standalone Lightroom catalog and photo folders. I simply have been forced to gain that knowledge sooner than expected.

So I created a standalone catalog of just PDXWLF 2026. I did not follow provided workflows to merge back into the current, main catalog because my photos always get transformed into .dng files on import. I didn’t want any weird transformations to happen on a new import of .dng files, so I manually moved folders of files into my master photos location, resync’d the subset catalog to the folders in the master Lightroom location, and then did the import of the subset catalog, telling the import process to just use the photos in their current location. Everything went without a hitch. Basically, I learned everything about export and import and developed my own variant of the merge process to make things work with my special photo files.

Automated backups of the consoldiated Lightroom master files will be completed tonight. All that is left is cleanup of obsolete/temporary catalogs and photo files. I’ll get around to doing this, but the timeframe is not critical. For all practical purposes, I can close this case.

(no subject)

Mar. 26th, 2026 09:30 pm
shadowhive: (Mew Cute)
[personal profile] shadowhive
So I was hoping to do two posts today but I kinda got sidetracked (but there’s still time for a second, if not it’ll be tomorrow.)

First, I managed to roll credits on Pokopia, so that’s the story quests of the game done. There’s still much to do, there’s plenty of Pokémon to find, I’ve got to reach environment level 10 in each area (and find recipes). However right now I’ve become fixated on Rocky Ridges. There’s a museum there and I’ve been trying to make it look nicer/ger better access by clearing ash but… ugh there’s so much of it. There’s multiple storage boxes filed with the stuff and it feels I’ve not made a dent. (The museum itself does look better though) however I’ve become fixated on the task so csnt really do any of the other things)

I did however, find Mew due to fixating on a puzzle before that. And ahhh so cute!

Yesterday we went to pick up something mum ordered from sainsburys (or rather mums friend ordered for her as a birthday present). That turned out to be… not the best idea. Why? Because wwe got hit by surprise hail! In the way there it was only briefly, however in the way back it came hard, feeling like pebbles hitting my face and arms which wasn’t great.

However I got some things, from tk I got two Agatha books (paperback with fancy covers): The Mysterious Affair At Styles and Murder On The Links. Also I got two books that seemed interesting, The Moonstone and The Mountain In The Sea. There was also a Stranger Things game and a puzzle (which feels a bit random). I did look for the project Hail Mary book in sainsburys but it was out of stock (same with the rabbit set people have got to make a Lego Rocky).

I had considered going to the BMTH concert thing at the cinema, but I talked myself in and out of it, mostly cause I’m not super familiar with the newer stuff. Seeing the festival show they did a few months ago was good but it didn’t matter I didn’t know newer stuff. A full set? But going out made the whole thing moot anyway.

Speaking of cinema I am a bit annoyed Ready Of Not 2 is going from 4 shows a day this first week to only 1 next week, and after 8pm. That’s so annoying. I might try and go, see it with They Will Kill You,but also Mario Galaxy is out too. Maybe I’ll see if they have spdecent showings next Saturday, cause there’s an entertainer Lego Easter egg thing. (Also speaking of Mario anyone going to the odeon next week? They’re gonna have little keyring things so I’m curious at the price)

Other cinema trips are gonna be Undertone, Exit 8 and maybe The Mummy (cause it’s out for Record Store Day).

Other planned trips are Megacon Saturday, mostly for Seapeekay (I really hope to find him, I’ll at least see his panels) and I might go to some of the other panels. I’m not expecting to get much (I’m hunting for Oroject Hail Mary or Pokopia stuff, but most likely I’ll just come back with dice). And there there’s 5 Seconds Of Summer next week yay! The first date of the tour was tonight snd, thankfully, there’s only one t-shirt thta I like the look of. Thank fuck.

Tonight I watched the next of the Doctor Who blu ray episodes, The Awakening. The Awakening is this season’s 2 parter, but it was wrote as being a full 4 part story. I think it really shows it was meant to be longer. It defintely feels it’s lost something.

There’s some good parts to it though. The Malus prop looks pretty cool and the guest cast are all pretty good, especially Jane and Will and Sir George does make a fairly good villian. And the sets area pretty good too. It just feels like it’s lacking in some areas. The central concept, of an entity using a renanctment to get the energy from it, is a pretty good one but doesn’t feel like it’s fully realised.

There’s comments about the whole village being involved in the ‘war games’ (why it’s called that repeatedly instead of a reenactment is baffling), and yet the village is deserted bar the people on horseback. Maybe if there were a few more extras as villagers that part would’ve worked better. Along with a scene or two showing the Malus effecting sir George it would be better. Also it was funny that they came to the village for Tegan to meet her grandfather and the doctor wanted them to leave before they’d even had any time together.

It was an ok ep overall. Two parters are always tricky to do but I think it really showed that this wasn’t intended as one, which made it feel so rushed. Next time is Frontios, which like The Awakeninf, I e not seen in awhile so don’t rememebr much of it. I guess we’ll see if that’s good.

Plan for the night: watch some of The Awakeninf special features, maybe work on the other post or fic, then snuggle.

Tomorrow it’s Father Brown, Beyond Paradise and Death In Paradise, along with Megacon prepping (mostly gathering stuff together.i might take the new sfx magazine cause it came yesterday too
[syndicated profile] universal_hub_feed

Posted by adamg

Proposed Arborway garage from the outside

The MBTA's 2023 vision of what the new garage would look like from the outside.

The MBTA reports its 2027-2031 capital plan now includes $371.5 million to replace the current Arborway bus garage in Forest Hills with a new building that will handle charging and maintenance for the battery buses the T says it's still committed to buying.

A replacement of one sort or another for the current garage has now been in the works for decades. Arborway buses ply routes in the southern half of Boston, with one line up to Back Bay and another down to  Walpole via Dedham and Norwood.

The future Arborway facility will be located next to the current facility at Washington Street and Arborway in Boston, near Forest Hills station. Once construction is completed, the old Arborway facility will be demolished and the area will be available for redevelopment.

In 2023, the T said the proposed new garage would free up eight acres of land for non-T development.

In 2021, the T said it hoped to break ground in 2024 to begin running new battery buses in 2027.

Topics: 
Neighborhoods: 

Prompt 2799: Grass

Mar. 26th, 2026 11:28 pm
immortalje: Typwriter with hands typing (Default)
[personal profile] immortalje posting in [community profile] dailyicons

Today's prompt is: grass



• You have 2 days time to submit an icon for this prompt (in other words, until prompt 2801 gets posted)!
• Prompt 2797 have been closed.
• If you have any questions regarding the prompt, feel free to ask in a comment.
• To submit an icon you simply reply to this post with the following information:
Icon:
Claim: (only necessary if it's a specific claim)
Status: (e.g. #1/10 - number of icon completed/table size)

Pre-formatted

SquidgeWorld Archive

Mar. 26th, 2026 06:00 pm
queer_scribbling: Pluto. Infrared photo showing a ring of blue against a black background. (pillowfort)
[personal profile] queer_scribbling
SquidgeWorld is adding Original Works as a fandom. If I understand correctly, this will kick in after this upcoming Sunday's maintenance (March 29th). I dropped a mention of this over on a March Meta Matters Challenge check-in because I'm hoping this may be helpful to someone interested in archiving their works.
Original Works - Essays and Meta: Think of this as the, "I'm here to convince you to watch more science fiction shows" or "Here is what action movies get wrong about female characters" and the like.
I suspect this may be the most helpful option.
Original Works - Diaries and Journals: This is where you can create something with your own personal thoughts. Almost like a blogpost or such.
For all the 'is this really an essay or more of a blog post' sort of questioning.
Original Works - Guidance and Instructions: I don't think this will get quite much use, but you never know. Things under this "fandom" are truly instructions, like "How to save money in THIS economy" or the instructions I wrote on how to implement the OTW code to bring a new archive online.
Ye of little faith. I would absolutely think this could be where @/ao3commentoftheday could share workskin tutorials, or someone could share a guide on how to go about hosting X off-site and embedding it into a work.

This obviously isn't a complete list, but I felt like I needed to pull out at least one or two examples before someone would want to take a closer look.

Profile

ride_4ever: made for me by oldtoadwoman (Default)
ride_4ever

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 3 4 56 7
8910 11121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 03:46 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios